The SHNH site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our privacy policy.


Society for the History of Natural History

Society for the History of Natural History AGM 2022 Agenda

Society for the History of Natural History AGM 2022 Agenda

The Annual General Meeting of the Society for the History of Natural History will be held by Zoom (online video conferencing) at 4 pm (16:00 BST) on Thursday 30 June 2022.

The formal business of the AGM will be followed by the giving of SHNH medals and awards for the SHNH Founders’ Medal, the SHNH President’s Award and the SHNH Natural History Book Prize (John Thackray Medal).

To attend the meeting please sign up on Eventbrite.

Please send apologies to the Secretary (

Agenda for SHNH AGM Thursday 30 June 2022

  1. SHNH President
    Gina Douglas Hon FLS


  2. Apologies for absence

  3. A Word from the President

  4. Minutes of the SGM & AGM held on 29 June 2021 by Zoom

  5. Report of Trustees for 2021

    • Objects

    • President

    • Membership

    • Publications and Communications

      • Editor of Archives of Natural History

      • Book Reviews

      • Communications

        Winner of the SHNH Natural History Book Prize
    • Meetings

    • Awards

    • International Representatives

    • Treasurer’s Report & Financial Statements
  6. Elections to the Portfolios of Council & Election of Trustees

  7. Election of Honorary Member

  8. AOB, followed by a short break

  9. Presentation of the Society’s Awards
    • An introduction to the Society’s Awards by Helen Cowie

    • Founders’ Medal  to Theodore W. Pietsch (Citation to be read by Gina Douglas)

    • President’s Award to Madeline Hutchins (Citation to be read by Malgosia Nowak-Kemp)

    • SHNH Natural History Book Prize to Jordan Goodman (John Thackray Medal) (Citation to be read by Geraldine Reid)

  10. Short talks/presentation by Awards’ recipients
  11. Short talk/presentation by Honorary Membership recipient, Professor Peter Davis

  12. Closing remarks by Gina Douglas, President

  13. Vote of Thanks and end of meeting.

Theodore W. Pietsch

Madeleine Hutchins

Jordan Goodman

Peter Davis
SHNH Past President

SHNH AGM Documents

SHNH Founders’ Medal
  1. Minutes of SHNH SGM & AGM held 29 June 2021

  2. SHNH AGM Papers